top of page

Recent Posts

Archive

Tags

No tags yet.

Elephant Orphanage

In 2014, I traveled to Kenya and visited an elephant orphanage. As soon as we got there, the elephants were released from their rooms to be fed, a few at a time. They ran with the anticipation and excitement of food. The bottles were waiting for them. After being nourished, they played with one another, rolling through the mud, splashing around in the mud bath. "Do these little ones know their parents were murdered by humans?" I wondered. As I bent down to pet the elephants, I felt a rough outer shell. Although I had a blast playing with the babies, my heart broke for them. I felt contrasting, opposite emotions at the same time. Joy and excitement with pain and sorrow. It is not fair that innocent elephants are killed for their tusks. Wildlife is precious.

bottom of page